Pacific Halibut Commission Announces Size And Limit Changes For Charters

The following is courtesy of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game: (Juneau) – On May 20, 2020, the International Pacific Halibut Commission (IPHC) met in a special session to recommend changes to the charter-caught halibut size and annual limits in IPHC Regulatory Areas 2C and 3A. These changes are summarized in the IPHC Media Release. These … Read more Pacific Halibut Commission Announces Size And Limit Changes For Charters

The Wild Virtual Premiere Set For Friday

The following is courtesy of The Wild film: Friday, June 5th Washington DC Screening:7pm EST; 4pm PST; 3pm AKST The Great Northwest Screening:6pm AKST; 7pm PST More than just a Film-Screening A Virtual-Gathering Tickets are $12 Two dollars from each ticket supports Bristol BayTicket Price also supports local theatre-groups.Welcome Intro from panelists.Livestream Screening of The WildVirtual Q&A after the … Read more The Wild Virtual Premiere Set For Friday

Anchor River, Deep Creek Closing For Sportfishing

The following is courtesy of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game: Homer) – In favor of protecting returning king salmon and ensuring sport fishing opportunities in the future, the Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G) is closing the Anchor River and Deep Creek drainages to sport fishing effective 12:01 a.m. Wednesday, June 3 through … Read more Anchor River, Deep Creek Closing For Sportfishing

Parts Of Cook Inlet King Salmon Fishing Shutting Down

The following is courtesy of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game: (Homer) – In favor of protecting returning king salmon and ensuring sport fishing opportunities in the future, the Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G) is closing sport fishing for king salmon, including catch-and-release, in the Cook Inlet saltwaters north of the latitude of … Read more Parts Of Cook Inlet King Salmon Fishing Shutting Down

Valdez Halibut Derby Gets Started

The following is courtesy of Valdez Fish Derbies: VALDEZ HALIBUT DERBY UNDERWAY AND VALDEZ SILVER SALMON DERBY SLATED TO START AS SCHEDULED IN JULY VALDEZ, Alaska – The Valdez Halibut Derby kicked off Memorial Day weekend and three Fairbanks anglers filled the top three spots on the leaderboard. Charles Young of Fairbanks keeps his boat … Read more Valdez Halibut Derby Gets Started

Alaska/Washington-Based Fishing Trawler Suffers COVID-19 Outbreak

Here’s more on the outbreak from The Seattle Times: The test results for the FV American Dynasty are a somber finding for the North Pacific fishing industry, which has been trying to keep the novel coronavirus off the ships and out of the shore-based plants that produce much of the nation’s seafood. The outbreak also underscores the … Read more Alaska/Washington-Based Fishing Trawler Suffers COVID-19 Outbreak