Southeast Alaska Chinook Lawsuit Gets A Financial Boost

The Wild Fish Conservancy’s lawsuit demanding that Chinook salmon trolling in Southeast Alaska waters is blocked this year will receive financial support from the Petersburg borough assembly, as KFSK reports, noting that not everyone in the assembly agreed with the decision in the controversial suit: Assembly member Bob Lynn supported the argument of the trollers … Read more Southeast Alaska Chinook Lawsuit Gets A Financial Boost

Salmon Facing Challenges In Changing North Pacific Waters

A new study written by several fisheries experts discusses the pratfalls that are affecting North Pacific sockeye salmon. Among the authors of the study was Dr. Greg Ruggerone, a longtime Alaska salmon guru who was part of pink salmon/sockeye research that we featured in 2018. Here’s the latest paper’s overview, which focuses on warming ocean … Read more Salmon Facing Challenges In Changing North Pacific Waters

Pacific Halibut Commission Announces Size And Limit Changes For Charters

The following is courtesy of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game: (Juneau) – On May 20, 2020, the International Pacific Halibut Commission (IPHC) met in a special session to recommend changes to the charter-caught halibut size and annual limits in IPHC Regulatory Areas 2C and 3A. These changes are summarized in the IPHC Media Release. These … Read more Pacific Halibut Commission Announces Size And Limit Changes For Charters

The Wild Virtual Premiere Set For Friday

The following is courtesy of The Wild film: Friday, June 5th Washington DC Screening:7pm EST; 4pm PST; 3pm AKST The Great Northwest Screening:6pm AKST; 7pm PST More than just a Film-Screening A Virtual-Gathering Tickets are $12 Two dollars from each ticket supports Bristol BayTicket Price also supports local theatre-groups.Welcome Intro from panelists.Livestream Screening of The WildVirtual Q&A after the … Read more The Wild Virtual Premiere Set For Friday

Anchor River, Deep Creek Closing For Sportfishing

The following is courtesy of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game: Homer) – In favor of protecting returning king salmon and ensuring sport fishing opportunities in the future, the Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G) is closing the Anchor River and Deep Creek drainages to sport fishing effective 12:01 a.m. Wednesday, June 3 through … Read more Anchor River, Deep Creek Closing For Sportfishing

Parts Of Cook Inlet King Salmon Fishing Shutting Down

The following is courtesy of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game: (Homer) – In favor of protecting returning king salmon and ensuring sport fishing opportunities in the future, the Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G) is closing sport fishing for king salmon, including catch-and-release, in the Cook Inlet saltwaters north of the latitude of … Read more Parts Of Cook Inlet King Salmon Fishing Shutting Down